Before you dwell on the terminologies and understand the Wisconsin state’s requirements, you must understand what a dwelling contractor is. A dwelling contractor is an ordinary contractor who works in Wisconsin and must have a Dwelling Contractor qualifier license. These licenses identify the individual as a licensed contractor and grant him a contractual work permit in Wisconsin’s state by such identification. Since the department of safety provides these work orders, it is essential to have a permit for dwelling contractors.
Although the dwelling contractor permit is essential for obvious reasons, what is more, important to understand is how to obtain it in the first place. The Wisconsin dwelling contractor qualifier license is obtained from the concerned department after fulfilling all the requisite criteria, including the Continuous Education commitments.
There are certain stipulations to renew your Dwelling Contractor Qualifier License to ensure safety and quality. It is a well-known scenario that contractors or construction projects can sometimes damage life and property. Hence the following stipulations have been put in place –
- To complete the renewal process of your dwelling contractor qualifier license, all licensed contractors are required to undergo their CE criteria. Accordingly, Wisconsin state laws mandate that the candidate complete at least 12 hours of continuing education requirements from the approved mode and center.
- Candidates wishing to renew their licenses must submit the renewal fee to the state to process the renewal application.
Wisconsin state legal framework also states that a candidate who holds a license expired for the past two (2) years then, in such a case, will have to undertake an Initial Qualifier course to have the license reinstated. Upon completion of the Initial Qualifier Course, candidates will receive a certificate that would indicate the successful completion of the qualifier course. This certificate must be accompanied by the application for reinstatement of the license.
At the onset, the Dwelling Contractor qualifier License Certification should be obtained by both the business and the individual. Though the certificate and the certification’s significance is the same, its procedure is different in both cases.
For the Individual
Anyone applying for the Dwelling Contractor Qualifier License in the state of Wisconsin has to ensure that mandatorily –
- Initial Qualifier Course
The individual completes the prescribed 12 hours of commitment for the approved initial qualifier course.
Anyone completing the license application requirements has to ensure that the 12 hours of the Dwelling Contractor Qualifier License is completed within one (1) year of the initial qualifier course in dwelling construction.
Candidates have to submit the proof of the course’s successful completion and attach the same with the concerned application with the requisite fee.
- Fees and Emoluments
After ensuring the same, the individual has to present his application, accompanied by the requisite fee, to the concerned state authority representative.
When applicants sit for the Initial Course, they have to qualify the same. This test is an open book exam on the initial course. Upon passing this open-book test, candidates will receive a completion certificate that indicates the fulfillment of all the course criteria, etc. This certificate must accompany your application to obtain the Dwelling Contractor qualifier license.
The application fee for the concerned insurance course consists of a $45 fee that includes
– $15 Application Fee
– $30 credential fee
Apart from these amounts, the application and the completion certificate can also be mailed along with the $45 fee.
For the Business
To prevent such an event from happening, it is necessary to ensure that the contractors are well aware of safety and quality standards. This helps them apply due care and caution to prevent any impending accidents. Thus, the same license can be obtained for the business as well by following the following steps –
- Submission of Application and Fee
- Submission of Proof of Insurance
For businesses, there are no continuing education requirements. Moreover, it is important to note that the Dwelling Contractor business working on a home project must also obtain individual licenses. The fee for the same is $40 that includes –
– $15 Application Fee
– $25 each year
It is important to understand the specifications of the course as well as of the exam in itself. Not only does that lead to better strategizing, but it also causes the company to ensure that the decision is sound and backed by ample logic to facilitate better bodies.